Brussels Sprouts in Edible Form

 

Brussel Sprouts

I don’t know all that many people who like and actively seek out Brussels Sprouts in the supermarket.

I bought a 500gr bag of baby Brussels Sprouts and put them into the crisper at the bottom of the fridge while I worked out what to do with them.

I have this wonderful Broad Bean salad recipe which I will make again when summer is upon us. But it put me in mind of a dish with the sprouts and some pine nuts and lemon. I thought that Brussels Sprouts and Pine Nuts sounded pretty nice with some onion and bacon.

So here we go:

150gr cleaned green sprouts. Parboil them for about 4 minutes or less depending on size. I keep a jug of water in the freezer for plunging food into to stop the cooking process so that’s what I did after draining the sprouts.

2 – 3 tbsp pine nuts dry toasted until aromatic.
¼ onion diced finely
2 tbsp diced bacon
2 tbsp butter. Put into a heavy based sauté pan and fry gently until the onion is translucent.

Drain the sprouts and cut in half. Add to the onion mixture and add some pepper and salt to taste as the sprouts are cooking. Add more butter if necessary to keep everything very moist.

When the sprouts are cooked (just soft on the teeth but still crunchy), add half the pine nuts and some lemon juice (½ lemon squeezed) and spoon over some heated rice. I always keep some cooked rice in the fridge for occasions like these or for making fried rice.

Finished Sprouts on a bed of rice

Very nice, even if I do say so myself, and I do. The quantities are enough for one person as a light meal.

Leave a Reply

