Prawns and Chicken on Fish Noodles

I have said before that I love prawns and so does the Engineer. We also like chicken and I had some cooked and sliced chicken breast that wanted to be used. The cooked prawns I had, some king and some smaller school prawns that would do nicely together on noodles.

When we go to Dundee for any reason, I always sidle into the Chinese store and check out what I need and what’s available and there is always lots available. Next time we go, I need a 2 litre bottle of Kikkoman light (table) soy. This recipe will use dark soy (Lee Kum Kee). Some time ago at this wonderful Chinese supermarket, I bought a large plastic container of 36 individually parcelled serves of dried fish flavoured noodles that have lasted me for quite some time. They are great in sweet and sour soups; egg and spring onion soups with lettuce.

I find it hard to cook without using capsicum and the colour of the fruit depends on the sort of dish I am making. I decided to use the last of my frozen chilli slices for colour and flavour.

Some fish sauce and sweet chilli sauce will be a necessity. I have these.

A visual on the ingredients

A visual on the ingredients

I will make a concoction of spring onion and sliced mushroom to add separately to this dish. It’s beginning to sound quite yummy.

So here is the ingredient list:

250gr sliced cooked chicken breast
250gr peeled cooked prawns – king or school or a mixture
1½tbsp vegetable oil
1 green chilli finely sliced – mine from the freezer already prepared
1 garlic clove finely chopped
½” ginger finely sliced
½ red capsicum sliced finely
1½tbsp Thai fish sauce
1tbsp dark soy sauce or at least 2tbsp Kikkoman table soy sauce
2 or maybe more (depends on taste) sweet chilli sauce
Juice of 1 lime
1tbsp coriander fresh chopped or dried reconstituted and a sprinkle of dried dill reconstituted. I pour boiling water over both herbs and let them soften. Fresh is better but I do live in Scotland.
As much noodles as you want – I used 2 individual parcels of dried noodles
2 or more diagonally sliced spring onions and some sliced closed cap white mushrooms.

The foody bits for this dish

The foody bits for this dish

How to do this:

I put my onions and mushrooms into a small dish with P&S and some butter and microwaved for 1 maybe 1½min on high. That’s for me. The Engineer doesn’t do onions.

Boil some water and submerge the noodles. Leave them to soften and absorb the water, about 3 – 4 mins. Drain and refresh with cold water.

Heat the oil in your very favourite frying pan or wok, add the garlic, ginger, chilli and capsicum. Cook over a fairly high heat for 3 mins.

Add chicken, prawns, all the sauces and noodles. Stir briskly until all is heated and then add the lime juice. Drain the herbs and add to the dish.
Serve in bowls and, for me, add the onion compote.

Here it is in a gorgeous bowl I found. Mushroom and spring onion compote on top.

Here it is in a gorgeous bowl I found. Mushroom and spring onion compote on top.

Leave a Reply

