Pink Heaths, Heathers & Pieris Passion

 

The colours of these Ericas & Callunas look gorgeous

The colours of these Ericas & Callunas look gorgeous

Although this post is about the back garden I have not been able to resist buying plants for my soon to be pink front garden. My eagle eye spotted a good deal on one year old heaths and heathers so  I bought a mixed dozen of Ericas and Callunas – some spring flowering which will get me moving and some that will flower in autumn.

I want to tackle the front garden soon and plant my pink Ericas that are flowering now and some pinky/red Callunas that will flower in autumn. I hadn’t realised that the species dubbed heather here in Scotland is the Calluna species while the heaths are Erica and Daboecia. You can get varieties of all three that flower at different times in the year giving colour throughout the seasons.

Learning this has allowed me to plan better. I plan to redo the front top border garden – I used it as used as a holding bed for some plants that I moved from the back when we first arrived at this house. Time to plant it out judiciously and remove unwanted and inappropriate plants to somewhere else. Then I happily bought three passionate pink Pieris from Gardening Express. One was damaged in transit unfortunately.

I am not sure how these Pieris will handle fierce winds.

I am not sure how these Pieris will handle fierce winds

I also found a Vinca minor that has pink flowers. Vincas are so hardy that dividing them is a piece of cake. You can see how well the purple Vincas have come on since last autumn when they had been untimely ripped from beside the garage!

The irises are finished – the vicious wind put paid to any remaining stragglers.  Now, of course, the hyacinths and daffodils have burst forth. 

The colour in this garden cheers me up no end

The colour in this garden cheers me up no end

I can see why hyacinths do better inside – the wind played havoc with the flowers and they don’t look their best. The muscari and crocus along the back fence and in the west garden are flowering still.

 

Planted out at last

Planted out at last

The indecisiveness of my last post has resolved into my planting the Cambridge Favourites strawberries in with the peas. The other neglected strawberries I trimmed and tied and potted up the strawberry planter I had bought last year. They have been in situ just over a week and look fine.

A first time use strawberry planter

A first time use strawberry planter

I have planted the Brodiaea triteleia corms near the western fence in front of the clematis and scattered a mix of purple annuals raked into the soil around the ajuga reptans. This west garden is going to end up a mass of different purples.

It is actually quite absorbing focussing on a single colour and its variants and types of plant. I haven’t ever tried to do this before but I find myself looking at everything that is purple and wondering whether I can squeeze in yet another few plants, bulbs, shrubs or seeds. The aquilegias that I transplanted from the front garden to the west garden last year look healthy enough. I would like masses of them all bunched together underneath the Pieris and Buddlejas bordering the south side. I know there are still some needing to be shifted from the front and will keep an eye on them for the purple ones. I discovered that because aquilegia self seed so readily the only way to isolate the bog standard purple one is by the dark stem that the new plants have. Paler stems indicate the lighter flowered varieties like white and yellow. The other thing I discovered is that you can shift aquilegias any time you like – they are extremely hardy.

 

2 responses to “Pink Heaths, Heathers & Pieris Passion

  1. Great tip about aquilegia stems! I have loads of self-sets and am never sure where the posh ones are 🙂

    • Hahahaha. I remember the multi-coloured columbines from my grandmother’s garden. I would like to find some these days. I only have the purple ones (to go with the west garden) and some whites and yellows in the front. The wind knocks them around too much in the front so I have to find different homes for them all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

