No Dig bed preparation and Dianthus

Spring having sprung, this then becomes a first. Never before have I made two consecutive daily posts. I am seduced by the weather. I seem to have been waiting for such a long time to get into the gardens.

 

No Dig beds are the way to go when you are 70 years old!

No Dig beds are the way to go when you are 70 years old!

Yesterday, having sprayed the area in the front lawn I wanted to turn into a garden extension marrying up two separate areas, I had to wait several hours for the glyphosate  to dry and get taken down to the root system. I laid some weed mat fabric down over the sprayed grass and emptied 240 litres of commercial compost and added several barrow loads of some broken down soil and other material that had been sitting around when we came here a couple of years ago.

All together with some granulated fertiliser and after a good bashing and raking, I watered it all down until it looked ready to have 60 mixed dianthus seedlings planted. I used the front door mat as a kneeler (I thought I was being clever) and got the lot in plus a couple of Pernettya mucronata that I had been given.

They look good and healthy. Didn't take as long as I anticipated.

They look good and healthy. Didn’t take as long as I anticipated.

At least that’s what I had thought Pernettyas to be until the taxonomists decided that they really should be classed as Gaultheria. Humph. Gaultheria is a misspelling of Jean François Gaultier of Quebec, a naturalist amongst other things. In any case the plant (commonly known as prickly heath is not a heath at all except it belongs to the family of Ericaceae.

Having broken my back spreading compost, turning, raking and planting, I thought I would take today off. The forecast had been one of wind, rain and cloud – good, I thought. Just what newly transplanted seedlings need to settle down into their planting medium.

I used to work on a tomato farm when I was in my early thirties. I was clocked at planting 1,100 tomato seedlings an hour going up slopes in the heat of the sub tropics. That’s youth for you!!

But now today at 15:35 the sun is out, the wind has died down and I keep looking at the Pieris Passions – I will put them near the new Dianthus bed in front of the aged crab-apple tree. These Pieris grow to 60cm and spread to 50cm so should be an attractive feature able to be seen from the sitting room window. They should intertwine and form a small pink border. Three plants can’t really be called a mass planting but you get my drift!

One year further on and they should look great!

One year further on and they should look great!

 

3 responses to “No Dig bed preparation and Dianthus

  1. I’m really impressed with this method, I would have made a ‘border’ where our raised beds are but I couldn’t face digging out all the turf so I plonked raised beds on it instead.

    • I started to do this when we lived in Leslie and I couldn’t face digging but wanted a garden of flowers to practice on in cold Fife. It worked really well. I think I will write a retrospective on the Leslie garden – though I didn’t take many photos. I will post it today or tomorrow. It will get the Leslie garden photos up onto the blog at the very least. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Dianthus | Find Me A Cure

Leave a Reply

