Flowers & Blossoms, shrubs & colour!

These 3 tulips added a good colour splash to the fpathway

These 3 tulips added a good colour splash to the pathway

What a gorgeous time of the year in this Northern Hemisphere. I have been waiting and waiting for stuff to happen in my garden so I can do more stuff! Everything has been about 4 to 5 weeks late because of the climate. Here we are at the end of May!! The apples and pear have finally put forth their blossoms for the first time and I am chuffed.

These four pome fruit trees are only 2 years old.

These four pome fruit trees are only 2 years old.

The aquilegias are starting to flower and I am overwhelmed by their elegant, subdued beauty.

Aquilegias are so beautiful

Aquilegias are so beautiful

The very delicate and very beautiful saxifrages are doing their thing. They are so easy to increase that I can see myself doing this each and every year that I can still bend down to pluck them out of the ground. This photograph is of my neighbour’s saxifrage plants around her cherry tree. They look great.

My neighbour's garden

My neighbour’s garden

The west garden Ajuga reptans in flower

The west garden Ajuga reptans in flower

The west garden is full of Ajuga reptans and the flowers arrived with the heat. Stunning.

AND! The Rhododendron on the back fence has finally opened its petals and is flowering. I can see this weirdly arranged bush from the conservatory window and thought it could do with a sort of underplanting. So I bought some Hebe heartbreaker and Ceanothus repens, some Lavendar and Pink Lavendula, Nemesia amelie and a Phlox candystripe. So thirteen plants in all were planted as a skirt to highlight the Rhododendron. It should feel pampered and on show. Well it is anyway!

This will look lovely in high summer!

This will look lovely in high summer!

It looks good. All the plantings will make about 50 to 60 cm by next year and the ‘skirt’ will look as though it has always been there. The pavers will be next.

I was in two minds about hanging baskets this year so did some anyway.

One of 4 similar hanging baskets

One of 4 similar hanging baskets

I love creating gardens. It is one of my best joys and brings me a sense of peace and achievement that nothing else can.

I find that gardening has always supplied a balance in my life that has delighted me and supplied the exercise I need to keep fit and flexible.

I am getting better at these

I am getting better at these

It also satisfies the need to be close to the earth that is a grounding force in an otherwise civilised and somewhat artificial and urban lifestyle.

The joy I experience as plants take root and thrive under my care and nurture, produce food and flowers in a garden that I have created is a feeling that only other gardeners seem to share. It is ineffable. And I love it.

2 responses to “Flowers & Blossoms, shrubs & colour!

  1. Forest So Green

    I know that waiting feeling. Spring was late for us this year 🙂

    • It has been frustrating watching the spring strive to breathe and then a frost, north easterly winds, rain with sleet and hail, burnt buds and leaves. Sob!!

      But, a little heat and everything responds and I feel great again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

