Chutneys with windfall Apples

My neighbour presented me with several kilos of small, some unripe, some windfall and some deliberately taken from her apple tree whose roots have become somewhat dislodged in the rain and wind we have had. She picked them from the overladen branches. I still have some chutneys to make but these two worked fine.
Chutneys, I thought plus some unusable apples left in the garden for my new visitor – a Hedgehog. More of that later.

So I have so far made three different chutneys. The first one was a bit too sweet and was mixed with tomatoes and onion. It was okay. It did a lot to teach me about chutney making though. I have been scouring the internet for chutneys that I think I will like – a lot of them use way too much sugar so I have doctored the amount down. They also add raisins, sultanas and date, prunes etc. Not to my taste so out they went.

These two recipes (so far) are fine. The first one has no onions in deference to my husband and the second one has no tomatoes. Apples and onions, spices and some chilli heat! As I tasted it while it was cooking, I found I had to add various spices etc. It tasted better. Spicy Apple and Tomato Chutney

Apple and Tomato spicy Chutney – no onions

  • 300gms ripe tomatoes (or equivalent tinned)
  • 300gms apples, peeled, cored and chopped
  • 1 bell pepper – yellow, green or red
  • 50gms brown sugar
  • ¾ cup vinegar (apple cider or other)
  • ½ cup oil (olive or canola/rapeseed)
  • 15-20gms garlic paste
  • 15-20gms ginger paste
  • 20gms curry powder (Madras or other favourite)
  • ¼tsp gr. cardamom
  • 1tsp Nando Sweet Chilli
  • ½tsp gr. black pepper
  • 1tsp Garam masala
  • 1tsp gr. cumin
  • salt to taste

Chop the tomatoes, apples and pepper or use a food processor. Heat the oil in a big pan. Fry the curry powder for ½ minute and add the chopped tomatoes, peppers and apples. Fry for a few minutes. Add remaining ingredients, mix well, cover and let simmer for approx. an hour until most of the liquid has evaporated – remove lid if necessary. Keep stirring at regular intervals to prevent the chutney from getting burnt at the bottom. The consistency should be like that of porridge. Salt to taste. Let cool completely before storing the chutney in sterilized jars. Will keep for months – so I understand!

The second one is more to my taste – it has onions and garlic, both of which I love.

Hot Indian Chutney

300gms cooking apples, peeled, cored and sliced
190gms onions, finely chopped
50gms light brown soft sugar use maybe 100gms if using green apples. I am not fond of sweet condiments so I have already reduced the amount I found in the original recipe.
¾cup malt vinegar
20gms garlic paste
20gms ginger paste
1 or more tsp salt
15ml crushed mustard seeds
1tsp paprika
1½tsp coriander seeds crushed
2 tbsp oil
I also added a small jar of apple chutney I had in the fridge that hadn’t ever been opened. It was made with some ale. It certainly added to the flavour!!

Place all ingredients in large pan and stir over gentle heat until sugar is dissolved. Bring to boil then simmer gently for about 2 hours until chutney is thick. Pour into warmed jars, cover and store for 2-3 months before serving. It’s not that hot in flavour – next time I may add some fresh, chopped chillies.

Hot Indian Apple Chutney

Leave a Reply

